As one of 33 University Hospitals in Germany the University Hospital Tübingen (UKT) which was founded in 1805 adds to the effective combination of medical treatment of the highest standard, excellent research and teaching. The UKT is a reliable partner in four of the six german centres for medical research, initiated by the Federal Government.

The Department of Radiology comprises five individual departments (diagnostic and interventional radiology, nuclear medicine, diagnostic and interventional neuroradiology, Neuroimaging and Preclinical Imaging and Radiopharmacy). These departments are located on the Schnarrenberg ("Berg" Hospitals), in the Department of Gynecology and Obstetrics ("Tal" Hospitals) and in the building of the Department of Nuclear Medicine.

Looking into the body and the precise interpretation of the images received is the responsibility of the radiological experts at the University Hospital. Modern radiological technology (digital radiology, computed tomography [CT], magnetic resonance imaging [MRI], positron-emission tomography [PET], PET/CT, and digital angiography) today facilitate a precise and very accurate view of the inside of the body from outside. Other imaging procedures, such as sonography (ultrasound), also constitute part of this technology.